GTA Regions that Opted out of Selling Cannabis

Some municipalities in the Greater Toronto Area have opted out of having cannabis retail shops within their communities. The regions that banned the sale of marijuana can change their status at anytime. However, once a municipality accepts retail cannabis stores, it cannot get rid of the locations. Below is a map highlighting the GTA regions that, as of the publishing date, have decided not to sell weed.

Map of the Greater Toronto Area

map of the GTA indicating which regions have opted out of selling cannabis.


1. Burlington
4. Halton Hills
6. Brampton
8. Toronto
13. Aurora
14. Stouffville
18. Uxbridge
19. Brock
20. Scugog
22. Ajax
24. Oshawa
25. Clarington


2. Oakville
3. Milton
5. Mississauga
7. Caledon
9. Vaughan
10. Markham
11. Richmond Hill
12. King
15. Newmarket
16. East Gwillimbury
17. Georgina
21. Pickering
23. Whitby

Map created by Adam Butzow
Text written by Ariel Deutschmann

Post a Comment